Delicious: The Art and Life of Wayne Thiebaud

#ad
Chronicle Books #ad - Now young readers have the chance to explore the development of a fascinating artist while delighting in the very child-friendly art that has made him so acclaimed. With her deft touch, critically-acclaimed non-fiction author Susan Rubin tells the story of the man behind the masterpieces. One of the giants of american art, Wayne Thiebaud was at first unappreciated because of the everyday subject matter of his paintings.

His tasty hot dogs, dizzy streets, delectable cakes, and sleepy deltas have since become icons of twentieth century art.

#ad



Delicious Metropolis: The Desserts and Urban Scenes of Wayne Thiebaud Fine Art Book, California Artist Gift Book, Book of Cityscapes and Sweets

#ad
Chronicle Books #ad - Delicious metropolis brings together two of Wayne Thiebaud's most celebrated bodies of work: desserts and cityscapes. Curators, critics, and artists guide the reader through the book via insightful bite-size essays. The layers of a neapolitan cake echo the shadows cast across a street in the late afternoon.

This book is perfect for:• fine art buffs• Fans of Wayne Thiebaud• Foodies and bakers• Fans of California and city life. Photos of art along with short essays by curators, critics, and artists • Cross multicolored page edges evoke the layers of Thiebaud's mouthwatering cakesFans of Wayne Thiebaud Draftsman, Counting with Wayne Thiebaud, and Richard Diebenkorn: A Retrospective will love this book.

Delicious Metropolis: The Desserts and Urban Scenes of Wayne Thiebaud Fine Art Book, California Artist Gift Book, Book of Cityscapes and Sweets #ad - This gorgeous hardcover offers fans and newcomers a refreshing and accessible way to enjoy the oeuvre of this iconic American painter. Between the two, fascinating juxtapositions develop. The pastel hues of iced sponge cakes match California's candy-colored houses.

#ad



Counting with Wayne Thiebaud

#ad
Chronicle Books #ad - Counting to 10 has never been so sweet! wayne thiebaud's delectable paintings, etchings, and drawings make Counting with Wayne Thiebaud as much an introduction to contemporary art as it is a delicious first book of numbers.

#ad



Wayne Thiebaud: Draftsman

#ad
Thames & Hudson #ad - 116 illustrations. This book of 116 drawings―compiled with the full cooperation of the artist to accompany a major new exhibition at the Morgan Library Museum―explores the wide range of Thiebaud’s production on paper, including early sketches, and watercolors, luminous pastels, and charcoal drawings made in connection with his teaching.

A fascinating study of the drawings by american artist wayne thiebaud, published with his cooperationBest known for his luscious paintings of pies and ice-cream cones, American artist Wayne Thiebaud born 1920 has been an avid and prolific draftsman since he began his career in the 1940s as an illustrator and cartoonist.

Wayne Thiebaud: Draftsman #ad - In subjects ranging from deli counters and isolated figures to dramatic views of San Francisco’s plunging streets, Thiebaud’s drawings endow the most banal, everyday scenes with a sense of poetry and nostalgia. Fully illustrated and beautifully designed, with illuminating texts, including an extensive interview with the artist, Wayne Thiebaud: Draftsman is the first major publication devoted to his lifelong engagement with drawing.

#ad



The Cat and the Bird: A Children's Book Inspired by Paul Klee Children's Books Inspired by Famous Artworks

#ad
Prestel Publishing #ad - Accompanied by information about the artist and this iconic painting, the book invites appreciation of the unfettered joyfulness that makes Klee one of the most universally loved artists of all time. This lovely story unfolds in a series of playful, brilliantly colored illustrations based on the artist Paul Klee's work.

A cat lives in a house filled with toys, but everyday she dreams of being free like the bird she watches through the windo. Prestel Publishing. Influenced by the artist's bright palette and use of shapes and line, the book culminates in a dazzling reproduction of Klee's Cat and Bird. Finally with the bird's help, she is able to escape and dance on the roofs of the city by moonlight.

The Cat and the Bird: A Children's Book Inspired by Paul Klee Children's Books Inspired by Famous Artworks #ad - A treasured painting by paul klee is the basis for this whimsical tale about a cat and a bird, and about the themes of freedom and friendship.

#ad



Yayoi Kusama: From Here to Infinity!

#ad
Museum of Modern Art, New York #ad - Different people saw these dots in different ways—some thought they were tiny, and others imagined them enormous, like cells, like planets. Every year, kusama sees more of the world, covering it with dots and offering people a way to experience it the way she does. She began to cover her paintings, drawings, sculptures, and even her body with dots.

Written by sarah suzuki, a curator at the museum of modern art, this colorful book tells the story of an artist whose work will not be complete until her dots cover the world, and featuring reproductions of Kusama’s instantly recognizable artworks, from here to infinity.1929 dreamed of becoming an artist.

Yayoi Kusama: From Here to Infinity! #ad - Prestel Publishing. Growing up in the mountains of Japan, Yayoi Kusama b. As she grew up, she traveled all around the world, New York to Venice, from Tokyo to Seattle, and brought her dots with her. One day, the people, she had a vision in which the world and everything in it—the plants, the sky—were covered in polka dots.

#ad



Wayne Thiebaud: A Paintings Retrospective

#ad
Thames & Hudson #ad - Best-known for his deadpan still-life paintings of cakes, pies, Thiebaud has also explored such themes as figure studies, the topography of Northern California, and other consumer goods, delicatessen counters, and cityscapes exaggerating the vertiginous roadways and geometric high-rises of San Francisco.

. Wayne thiebaud: a paintings retrospective is published on the occasion of an exhibition of the same title, the first major survey in fifteen years of work by this famous American figurative artist. In fact, thiebaud is part of the grand tradition of representational art from Chardin and Manet to the American Realist masters such as Eakins and Hopper.

Wayne Thiebaud: A Paintings Retrospective #ad - An extended essay by adam gopnik, the paris journal writer for The New Yorker, William Carlos Williams, links Thiebaud to American writing as a painter in the tradition of Walt Whitman, and John Updike. Steven A. Nash, associate director and chief curator at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, has organized the exhibition and provides a biographical essay on Thiebaud.

Continuous throughout his career is his combination of the perceptual and the conceptual, and painterly texture with rigorously formal composition, light, of sensuous color, resulting in a highly personalized Americana. Wayne thiebaud, the california-based painter, has produced works of complexity and distinction that appear deceptively simple in terms of subject matter and in their presentation yet draw on many historical sources.

Prestel Publishing.

#ad



Draw, Paint, Sparkle: Creative Projects from an Elementary Art Teacher

#ad
Roost Books #ad - More than just a simple how-to draw and paint book, Draw, Paint, Sparkle is an invitation for kids to unleash their creativity through color and paint. Designed by an elementary art teacher, shares art-making techniques that add variety and ease to the projects, each creative exploration offers tips on using the best art materials that won’t break the bank, and provides insights on engaging kids in the process.

With projects based on celebrated painters like Van Gogh and Monet to contemporary artists like James Rizzi and Jackson Pollock, you’ll explore a range of painting techniques and styles. 25 kid-tested lessons in drawing and painting—perfect for children ages 5 to 10   Encourage and empower kids to make art! The 25 art lessons in this book present step-by-step drawing instructions paired with a range of painting techniques and styles for endless creative exploration.

Draw, Paint, Sparkle: Creative Projects from an Elementary Art Teacher #ad - Through flexible instructions, you’ll create big and bold paintings. The lessons include: ·         Beginner projects. Discover easy ways to get started making art. Prestel Publishing. Paintings inspired by nature. Draw and paint familiar and imagined landscapes and animals as a fun way to engage with art.

Art lessons inspired by the masters.

#ad



Vision and Revision: Hand Colored Prints by Wayne Thiebaud

#ad
Chronicle Books #ad - Used book in Good Condition. Prestel Publishing. With 70 color and 8 black and white illustrations.

#ad



The Fantastic Jungles of Henri Rousseau

#ad
Eerdmans Books for Young Readers #ad - Used book in Good Condition. Eerdmans Books for Young Readers. Instead, he taught himself to paint. He painted until the jungles and animals and distant lands in his head came alive on the space of his canvases. Michelle markel's vivid text, complemented by the vibrant illustrations of Amanda Hall, artfully introduces young readers to the beloved painter and encourages all readers to persevere despite all odds.

Watch the trailer: Prestel Publishing. Henri rousseau wanted to be an artist. But he had no formal training. Henri rousseau endured the harsh critics of his day and created the brilliant paintings that now hang in museums around the world.

#ad



Stitch and String Lab for Kids: 40+ Creative Projects to Sew, Embroider, Weave, Wrap, and Tie Lab for Kids 21

#ad
Quarry Books #ad - They will also experiment with string art, needle felting,  yarn art, shibori dyeing, pompom animals, as well as finger knitting, and cool wrapping projects. Each lab contains a complete materials list, clear step-by-step photographs of the process, as well as finished samples. Eerdmans Books for Young Readers.

Sewing projects include a drawstring bag, a sketchbook jacket, and custom plushies. Prestel Publishing. The activities are open-ended, designed to be explored over and over, often with different results. Children will learn how to make custom looms to weave bookmarks, bracelets, and even a mini rag rug. These 44 creative projects offer a broad and rich sampling of sewing, fabric, and fiber crafts—Stitch and String Lab for Kids is perfect for keeping kids busy with educational activities at home, learning techniques and experimenting at school, or having a ball at camps and parties.

Stitch and String Lab for Kids: 40+ Creative Projects to Sew, Embroider, Weave, Wrap, and Tie Lab for Kids 21 #ad - The popular lab for kids series features a growing list of books that share hands-on activities and projects on a wide host of topics, including art, astronomy, clay, geology, math, and even how to create your own circus—all authored by established experts in their fields. Parents, illustrated instruction and the curriculum-friendly format, homeschoolers, teachers, and facilitators will appreciate the easy, with projects that can be completed in any order.

Used book in Good Condition. In stitch and string lab for kids, and weaving to string art, art teacher and winner of the Netflix bake-off show Nailed It! Cassie Stephens presents 40+ inventive projects that explore everything from simple sewing, embroidery, needle felting, and yarn crafts.

#ad